In a life threatening emergency dial Triple Zero (000)

In a life threatening emergency dial Triple Zero (000)
ACT Public Hospitals

Canberra Hospital

5124 0000

Calvary Hospital

6201 6111

Mental Health

Call Mental Health Triage on

1800 629 354

(free call except from mobiles or public phones) or

6205 1065

Poisons Hotline

For a poison emergency in Australia call


Drug and Alcohol Help Line

The Drug and Alcohol Help Line is available 24-hours, 7 days a week on

5124 9977

Health Protection Service

For after hours urgent public health matters including environmental health, radiation safety, food poisoning and communicable disease management phone:

(02) 6205 1700


24 hour health advice

1800 022 222

ACT State Emergency Service

Emergency help
during flood or storms

132 500

ACT Ministerial Advisory Council on Ageing

The ACT Ministerial Advisory Council on Ageing (the Council) provides strategic advice to the Minister for Seniors and Veterans on issues affecting older citizens in the ACT.

Their diverse cultural and professional backgrounds, experiences and abilities reflects the varied Seniors community of Canberra. The members bring expertise from across a broad spectrum in the fields of medicine, law, social services, human rights, government and non-government sectors, aged care and volunteering.

The 2017 - 2019 Council had a key role in developing Age Friendly Canberra - A Vision for our city and the 2019 - 2021 Council will continue to provide advice on its implementation.

The Ministerial Advisory Council on Ageing Terms of Reference

ACT Ministerial Advisory Council on Ageing – Referee Report Proforma [PDF 152KB] [Word 50KB]


Professor Diane Gibson (Chair)

Professor Diane Gibson is a Distinguished Professor (Health and Ageing) at the University of Canberra. She was the Inaugural Dean of the Health Faculty, implementing several new courses to meet health workforce shortages in our region. She established the ageing statistics and reporting functions of the Australian institute of Health and Welfare. A former Senior Executive in the Australian Public Service, Professor Gibson is an internationally recognised researcher and a Fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences in Australia.

Mrs Barbra Williams

Mrs Williams brings experience to the council through her commitment to supporting the needs and wellbeing people living with dementia and their families and carers. Mrs Williams is currently the General Manager of Client Services ACT and NSW with Dementia Australia, is a professional social worker and has a commitment to enhanced positive ageing for all people. Mrs Barbra Williams is a returning member and is serving her second term on the Ministerial Advisory Council on Ageing.

Mr Chander Khera

Following a distinguished career in the Australian Public Service, Mr Chander Khera has immersed himself in local community services. These roles have a diverse focus including the Red Cross Telecross service, assisting victims of trauma, technology services for older people, policy development and human rights. Mr Chander Khera is serving his second term on the Ministerial Advisory Council on Ageing.

Ms Elizabeth Samra

Ms Elizabeth Samra has extensive experience working with older people and has been active in advocating for the rights of older people for almost a decade. Prior to moving to the ACT, Ms Samra was the Principal Solicitor of a specialist elder abuse legal and advocacy service in Victoria. She is currently a solicitor at the Older Persons ACT Legal Service at Legal Aid ACT and a member of the ACT Elder Law and Succession Law Committee. Ms Samra is serving his second term on the Ministerial Advisory Council on Ageing.

Mr Grant Doran

Mr Grant Doran has an extensive career including in not-for-profit, government, corporate and consulting organisations. He has achieved results in aged care particularly in the areas of accreditation and compliance and cultural change. Mr Doran has managed many high-level projects using best practice to achieve positive outcomes. Mr Doran has both professional and personal exposure to dementia and is keen to assist with dementia advocacy within the community. Mr Doran is serving his second term on the Ministerial Advisory Council on Ageing.

Mr Gregory Burn

Mr Gregory Burn is a lawyer with over 30 years experience. Mr Burn operated a private legal practice in Sydney for 25 years before joining the NSW Trustee and Guardian and then the Public Trustee and Guardian for ACT. Mr Burn is a member of the ACT Law Society’s Elder law and Succession Law Committee and Pro Bono Assessment Panel. For many years, he has spoken with and presented to community organisations in NSW and ACT on elder abuse, planning ahead and making Wills and Enduring Powers of Attorney. Mr Burn is committed to developing an understanding of supportive decision making within our community. Mr Burn is a Deputy Public Trustee and Guardian of the ACT.

Ms Helen Roberts

Ms Helen Roberts is an active member of the community and currently serves on the Australian Library and Information Association and the Canberra and Region Retirees Group. Ms Roberts has expertise and experience in the areas of law, librarianship and advocacy. She is also a member of the Australian Dystonia Support Group and has a passion for disability awareness, especially in regards to invisible disabilities.

Ms Sue Schreiner

Ms Schreiner is a retired lawyer. She attended school in Canberra and commenced her legal career there before spending the majority of her working life in NSW as a barrister and then a Magistrate. Ms Schreiner was the first female Barrister to appear in the ACT Supreme Court. She has a long standing commitment to issues of social justice and is now engaged in advocacy for older people. She is currently a member of a number of groups seeking to enrich the lives of older Canberrans. Ms Schreiner’s is serving her second term on the Ministerial Advisory Council on Ageing.

Ms Thi Nha Tran

Ms Tran considers herself to be a scientist (ex-CSIRO, ex-science teacher) in her head and an artist in her heart. She firmly believes people should be prepared to walk the talk when participating in committees or other bodies. She is passionate in doing good for others and seeks a holistic approach towards problem solving. She firmly believes and practices collaboration with peers, other bodies and clients. She is currently serving in a voluntary capacity with multiple organisations including ACT Health Services, Mental Health Australia, ACT Mental Health Consumer Network and ACT Community Coalition.